Makayla Imrie is the 2022 TeachIndy, Social Studies Teacher of the Year

makayla imre


Ms. Makayla Imrie, an educator at Christel House at Manual, has been named the 2022 TeachIndy Social Studies Teacher of the Year. Imrie, who is originally from Wisconsin, obtained her teaching credentials through Teaching For America (TFA). “My understanding of school was very academic until I stepped into the classroom and realized that to get to academics, I had to build relationships with students, and then I realized that was the part of the job I loved most,” says Imrie.


Imrie’s passion for education led her to Indianapolis where she accepted a teaching position at Thomas Carr Howe High School. “I love what I do because I feel like it has a good impact on kids, and I leave at the end of the day feeling as though what I’m doing is for somebody,” she said. “My goal every single day is to create impact whether it’s academic or social-emotional.” 


Imrie is a five-year educator who delivers high-quality academic instruction and is dedicated to building impactful relationships with her students. “Makayla's love and passion for her content and her classroom are evident when you see her in action. She is thoughtful, well planned, and prides herself on creating fun and engaging lessons for her students. Not only is Ms. Imrie a leader in the classroom, but she leads our 12th grade PLC, supports freshman mentoring, and is heavily involved in many other activities within our school,” said Rob King, Christel House at Manual Principal. 


Imrie was nominated by school leadership, community partners, and/or peers and completed an award application process. She was selected by team members from the Indianapolis Mayor’s Office of Education Innovation (OEI), Indianapolis Public Schools (IPS), the 2022 College Football Playoff Host Committee, Five-Star Technology, and Teach Indy Board Members.


Each award recipient received a certificate, social media recognition, professional development resources, and a $2,000 award given by TeachIndy. Congratulations to all of these excellent educators!

To learn more about all of the winners visit

Back to School News       Print